4.2 Executive Committee

  1. The Executive Committee comprises the officers of the Society: the President, President-elect, and four (4) Vice-Presidents as described below. The Executive Committee shall be responsible for the management of the affairs of the Society in accordance with the policies and guidelines of the Society.
  2. The President is the chief executive of the Society and shall: a) preside at all meetings of the Society, the Council, and the Executive Committee; b) oversee the affairs of the Society; c) ensure that the resolutions of the Council and the General Membership are carried out in a proper manner; and d) perform any other duties which the Council may, from time to time, assign. The term of office of the President is two (2) years. At the conclusion of the term of office, the President and the Executive Committee shall prepare a report about the state of the Society. The report shall be communicated (via e-mail or other means) to the General Membership at least two weeks before the beginning of the ISI Biennial Session that year.
  3. The President-elect is elected to a two-year term. In the event that the President is absent or unable to perform her/his duties, the President-Elect shall perform these duties. In addition, s/he will assist the President on financial planning and financial administration of the Society and in preparing an annual financial report. S/he will coordinate with the ISI Permanent Office on all matters pertaining to financial transactions. S/he will also perform any other duties that are assigned from time to time by the Council. At the end of the President-elect's two-year term, s/he shall automatically become the President for a two-year term.
  4. The Vice President for Scientific Program is responsible for planning, implementing, and overseeing all aspects of the scientific program of the Society. These include the activities described in 2.2 (i), (ii) and (iii) as well as any others that are required to further the scientific mission of the Society. The VP for Scientific Program shall also chair the Scientific Committee as described in article 7.1. The term of office is two (2) years, and s/he can be re-elected for at most one additional consecutive term to the same office.
  5. More>