3. Membership

The membership of the Society includes the four (4) types as described below. The Society may add other forms of membership as necessary to further its mission, subject to the procedures governing the amendment of the by-laws in article 8.

  1. Individual membership: Any person can become an individual member by applying for membership and paying the annual dues. The dues are determined by the Executive Committee.
  2. Institutional membership: Organizations whose objectives are compatible with those of the Society can join as institutional members subject to approval by the Executive Committee. These include educational and scientific institutions, business and industrial enterprises, government organizations, and non-profit institutions. Dues for institutional members are determined by the Executive Committee. Each institutional member can designate a representative who will have the same rights and privileges as an individual member.
  3. Student membership: Any student at an educational institution can become a student member provided s/he is certified as a current student by a member of the academic staff of the institution at which s/he is enrolled. Student members are eligible to pay reduced dues at rates determined by the Executive Committee. Student members have all the privileges of individual members except for voting rights.
  4. Honorary membership: Deserving members of the Society can be nominated for (lifetime) honorary membership. The individual must: a) have been a member of ISBIS for at least three years, b) be a distinguished member of the Business and Industrial Statistics community, and c) have made significant contributions to the Society. An honorary member is exempt from paying dues and has the same rights and privileges as an individual member. The nomination for honorary membership must be approved by a two-thirds majority of the Council and by a unanimous decision of the Executive Committee. The total number of honorary members shall not exceed 2% of the total number of all regular members at the time of their nomination.